Rick James: Street Songs
More images

Street Songs

Rick James

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 16 March 2009
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP

Original Release: 1981

The late Rick James was as notorious for his wild lifestyle as he was for his music, mixing pop, rock, R&B and sleazy funk. Street Songs, his 1981 album for Motown featured his most enduring hit, 'Super Freak', sampled most famously on MC Hammer’s Grammy Award winning 'U Can't Touch This', as well as Jay-Z’s ‘Kingdome Come’. Featuring cameos by Stevie Wonder on harmonica and The Temptations on backing vocals (who included Rick’s uncle, Melvin Frank), the album is loosely a concept piece about "ladies of the night". The album’s other hits are ‘Give It to Me Baby’, ‘Fire and Desire’ (a duet with Teena Marie) and ‘Ghetto Life’.

Side A
1. Give It To Me Baby
2. Ghetto Life
3. Make Love To Me
4. Mr Policeman

Side B
1. Super Freak
2. Fire And Desire
3. Call Me
4. Below The Funk (Pass The J)